Skip to main content
COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions
Blog

New 2022 State Minimum Wage Rates

By November 30, 2021December 10th, 2021No Comments

This chart represents state and local minimum wage increases that have and will happen in 2022. Please note that pending future legislation may change more minimum wages this year.

Federal Minimum Delaware Maine New Jersey South Dakota
Federal Contractors Florida Maryland New Mexico Tennessee
Alabama Georgia Massachusetts New York Texas
Alaska Hawaii Michigan North Carolina Utah
Arizona Idaho Minnesota North Dakota Vermont
Arkansas Illinois Mississippi Ohio Virginia
California Indiana Missouri Oklahoma Washington
Colorado Iowa Montana Oregon West Virginia
Connecticut Kansas Nebraska Pennsylvania Wisconsin
Kentucky Nevada Rhode Island Wyoming
Louisiana New Hampshire South Carolina

 

State or Locality

Minimum Wage Rate

Notes and Future Scheduled Increases

Federal
minimum
$7.25
Federal
contractors
$11.25 Adjusted annually January 1. Under executive order regulations to increase to $15 are being written.
Alabama None No minimum wage; federal law applies.
Alaska $10.34 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Arizona $12.80 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Flagstaff $15.50
Arkansas $11.00
California $15.00 with 26 employees or more; $14.00 with fewer than 26 employees 25 employees or less: $15.00 1/1/23, then adjusted annually.
Alameda $15.00 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Belmont $15.90 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Berkeley $16.32 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Burlingame $15.60 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Cupertino $16.40 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Daly City $15.53 Adjusted annually on January 1.
El Cerrito $16.37 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Emeryville $17.13 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Fremont $15.25 with 26 or more employees; $15.00 with 25 or fewer employees Adjusted annually on July 1.
Half Moon Bay $15.56 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Hayward $15.56 with 26 or more employees; $14.52 with 25 or fewer employees Adjusted annually on January 1.
Long Beach $15.00 with 26 employees or more; $14.00 with fewer than 26 employees $15.69 for hotel workers; $15.32 for concessionaires
Los Altos $16.40 Adjusted annually January 1.
Los Angeles City and County $15.00 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Malibu $15.00 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Menlo Park $15.25 Adjusted annually January 1.
Milpitas $15.65 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Mountain View $17.10 Adjusted annually January 1.
Novato $15.77 for businesses with 100 or more employees; $15.53 for businesses with 26 to 99 employees; $15.00 with 25 or fewer employees
Oakland $15.06 Adjusted annually January 1.
Palo Alto $16.45 Adjusted annually January 1.
Pasadena $15.00 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Petaluma $15.85 Adjusted annually January 1.
Redwood City $16.20 Adjusted annually January 1.
Richmond $15.54 Adjusted annually January 1.
San Carlos $15.77 Adjusted annually January 1.
San Diego $15.00 Adjusted annually January 1.
San Francisco $16.32 Adjusted annually on July 1.
San Jose $16.20 Adjusted annually January 1.
San Leandro $15.00 Adjusted annually on July 1.
San Mateo $16.20 Adjusted annually January 1.
Santa Clara $16.40 Adjusted annually January 1.
Santa Monica $15.00 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Santa Rosa $15.85 Adjusted annually January 1.
Sonoma $16.00 for businesses with 26 or more employees; $15.00 for businesses with 25 or fewer employees For businesses with 26 or more employees: $17.00 1/1/23. For businesses with 25 or fewer employees: $16.00 1/1/23. Adjusted annually January 1
South San Francisco $15.55 Adjusted annually January 1.
Sunnyvale $17.10 Adjusted annually January 1.
Colorado $12.56 Adjusted annually on January 1. Tipped employee must regularly earn at least $30 per month in tips.
Denver $15.87 Adjusted annually January 1.
Connecticut $13.00 Increasing to $14.00 7/1/22; $15.00 6/1/23, then adjusted annually on January 1.
Delaware $10.50 Increasing to $11.751/1/23; $13.25 1/1/24; $15.00 1/1/25.
New Castle County $10.10
District of Columbia $15.20 Adjusted annually on July 1.
Florida $10.00 Increasing to: $11.00 9/30/22; $12.00 9/30/23; $13.00 9/30/24; $14.00 9/30/25; $15.00 9/30/26.
Georgia $5.15
Hawaii $10.10
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $12.00
Chicago $15.00 for large employers with 21 or more employees; $14.00 for small employers with 4  to 20 employees Adjusted annually July 1.
Cook County $13.00 Adjusted annually July 1.
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana None No minimum wage; federal law applies.
Maine $12.75 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Bangor $9.75 The state minimum wage rates apply.
Portland $13.00
Maryland $12.50 for businesses with 15 or more employees;
$12.20 for businesses with fewer than 15 employees
Increasing to: $13.25 1/1/23; $14.00 1/1/24; $15.00 1/1/25 for businesses with 15 or more employees. Increasing to: $12.80 1/1/23; $13.40 1/1/24; $14.00 1/1/25; $14.60 1/1/26; $15.00 7/1/26 for businesses with fewer than 15 employees.
Montgomery County $15.00 for businesses with 51 or more employees; $14.00 for businesses with 11 to 50 employees; $13.50 for businesses with 10 or fewer employees Adjusted annually July 1.
Prince George’s County $11.75 for businesses with 15 or more employees; $11.60 for businesses with fewer than 15 employees The state minimum wage rates apply.
Massachusetts $14.25 Increasing to: $15.00 1/1/23.
Michigan $9.65 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Ypsilanti $10.10
Minnesota $10.33 large employers (annual gross revenue $500,000 or more); $8.42 small employers (annual
gross revenue less than $500,000)
Adjusted annually on January 1.
Minneapolis $14.25 for businesses with more than 100 employees; $12.50 for businesses with 100 or fewer employees Large businesses (101 or more employees): $15.00 7/1/22; $15.00 indexed to inflation 1/1/23; $15.00 indexed to inflation again on 7/1/24.
Small businesses (100 or fewer employees): $13.50 7/1/22; $14.50 7/1/23; $15.00 indexed to inflation 7/1/24.
St. Paul $12.50 for large employers of more than 101 employees; $11.00 for small employers with 6 to 100 employees; $10.00 for micro employers with 5 or fewer employees Macro employers of more than 10,000 employees:
$15.00 7/1/22
Large employers with 101 to 10,000 employees:
$13.50 7/1/22; $15.00 7/1/23
Small employers with 6 to 100 employees:
$12.00 7/1/22; $13.00 7/1/23; $14.00 7/1/24; $15.00 7/1/25
Micro employers with 5 or fewer employees:
$10.75 7/1/22; $11.50 7/1/23; $12.25 7/1/24; $13.25 7/1/25; $14.25 7/1/26; $15.25 7/1/27
Mississippi None No minimum wage; federal law applies.
Missouri $11.15 Increasing to: $12.00 1/1/23. Adjusted annually on January 1.
Montana $9.20 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Nebraska $9.00
Nevada $9.75 without health benefits
$8.75 with health benefits
Increasing to: $10.50/$9.50 7/1/22; $11.25/$10.25 7/1/23.
New Hampshire $7.25
New Jersey 13.00 for employers with more than 5 employees; $11.90 for seasonal employers, small employers
with 5 or fewer workers, and $10.90 for agricultural employers
Increasing to: $14.00 1/1/23 for employers with more than
5 employees; $12.70 1/1/23 for seasonal and small employers; $11.70 1/1/23 for agricultural employers. Adjusted annually on January 1.
New Mexico $11.50 Increasing to: $12.00 1/1/23.
Albuquerque $9.50 with benefits; $10.50 without benefits The state minimum wage rates apply.
Bernalillo County $9.35 The state minimum wage rates apply.
Las Cruces $10.50 The state minimum wage rates apply.
Santa Fe $12.32 Adjusted annually in March.
Santa Fe County $12.32 Adjusted annually in March.
New York See industry wage orders for additional requirements.
New York City $15.00
Long Island & Westchester $15.00
Remainder of New York State $13.20 Annual indexing to continue increasing up to $15.00.
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $9.30 (gross receipts of $342,000 or more); $7.25 (gross receipts under $342,000) Adjusted annually on January 1.
Oklahoma $7.25
Oregon Portland metro area $14.00; Urban counties $12.75; Rural counties $12.00 An employer’s location affects minimum wage rate.

Within Portland’s urban growth boundary (metro area) (including portions of Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington counties): $14.75 7/1/22

Areas not in Portland’s urban growth boundary or one of the listed nonurban counties (urban counties)
(Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Deschutes, Hood River, Jackson, Josephine, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Wasco, Washington, Yamhill counties): $13.50 7/1/22

The nonurban counties (rural counties)
(Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wheeler counties): $12.50 7/1/22

Between 2016 and 2023, the annual cost-of-living increase will be on hold statewide but will -resume in 2023. The non-Portland/non-nonurban area will set the baseline. The Portland area must remain at least $1.25 above the baseline, and nonurban counties can be up to $1 below the baseline.

Pennsylvania $7.25
Rhode Island $12.25 Increasing to: $13.00 1/1/23; $14.00 1/1/24; $15.00 1/1/25.
South Carolina None No minimum wage; federal law applies.
South Dakota $9.95 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Tennessee None No minimum wage; federal law applies.
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $12.55 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Virginia $11.00 Increasing to: $12.00 1/1/23.
Washington $14.49 Adjusted annually on January 1.
Seattle Schedule 1 (more than 500 employees in U.S.) $17.27

Schedule 2 (500 or fewer employees in U.S.) $17.27

Schedule 2 (500 or fewer employees in U.S.) with medical benefits or tips $15.75

Schedule 1: Adjusted annually on January 1.

Schedule 2: Adjusted annually on January 1.

Schedule 2 employers (500 or fewer employees in the U.S.)
with medical benefits. $16.50 1/1/23; $17.25 1/1/24. Effective January 1, 2025, the hourly minimum wage paid by a Schedule 2 employer shall equal the hourly minimum wage applicable to Schedule 1 employers.

SeaTac $17.53 Adjusted annually on January 1
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $5.15*

* Employers in states without minimum wage laws, or with minimum wage rates lower than the federal minimum wage, which currently is $7.25 an hour, must observe the federal minimum wage for all employees covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act.


Customers of 501(c) Services that would like more information about state hourly rate changes can contact HR Services today.

We want to thank our friends at Littler Mendelson P.C. for providing us with this information.

501c Services newsletter sign up - popup graphic envelope letter

Keep up with
the news

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter for timely updates, news, and events.

close-link